2022 Annual Meeting

2022 Annual Meeting

2022 VWA Annual Meeting: Recap and Resources

Saturday, October 29, 2022
Hulbert Outdoor Center, Fairlee, VT

It was such a pleasure to see many of you at the Annual Meeting. We are pleased to share some highlights, materials and resources from the day!

Educational Presentations

Intersection of sustainable forestry, wildlife habitat and climate, presented by Todd Waldron, Northeast Forest Conservation Director for the Ruffed Grouse Society 

State of Vermont’s Forest, presented by Keith Thompson, Private Lands Program Manager, VT Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation 

  • Presentation (coming soon!)

Responding to Climate Change Panel, facilitated by Ethan Tapper, Chittenden County Forester,  VT Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation with participation from Tim Stout, landowner; Mike White, Calfee Woodland Management; and Tessa McGann, Long View Forest

Panelist Recommended Resources:

Congratulations to all of our awards recipients

Kathleen Wanner Outstanding Leadership Award- presented to Kathleen Wanner in appreciation of her outstanding leadership as Executive Director of VWA and Administrator of the Vermont Tree Farm Committee and her unwavering commitment to countless other forestry boards and organizations.

2022 Tree Farmer of the Year– Irwin Family Forest, John & Barb Irwin  Click Here to learn more about Irwin Family Forest

Tree Farm Inspectors of the Year:

  • Most Inspections– Andy McGovern
  • Outreach and Education– Ethan Tapper
  • 2022 Inspector of the Year– Charlie Hancock

25 year Tree Farmers :

1306.15 –  Meadowsend Timberlands Delectable Mountain Forest  11/1/1995
1306.16 – Meadowsend Timberlands Bridgewater Hollow
1306.17 – Meadowsend Timberlands  Chateauguay Forest
1306.18 – Meadowsend Timberlands
1256 – Vermont Land Trust – Tucker Westenfeld   12/1/1995
918 – Patrick Leahy – Allan Thompson 12/1/1995-already received
1196 – Joseph Weston – Rich Root  1/1/1996
1317 – Ken Weston – Ben Campbell  3/1/1996
1322 – Arthur Dugas – Steve Handfield 12/1/1996
776 – Lee Houghton  11/1/1994 – Kathy Beland/Frank Hudson
593- Ingrid Christman, Pine Ridge Tree Farm – Rich Carbonetti 6/1/1994
1260- Milton Fullerton – Pat Bartlett – 1/1/1994

50 year:

249 – Joanna Maynard(Taffy)( Hull Maynard) – Russell Reay  2/1/1971
260 – Barbara Hudson Rescott  – Allan Thompson 8/1/1971 formerly Sam Hudson’s property(Franklin County Forester from 1957-1982)
261 – William Emmons III – Pat Bartlett 11/1/1971  Cloudland Farm, Inc.
268 – Trapp Family Lodge – Allan Thompson  6/1/1972
271 – Rick Bizzozero – Ryan Kilborn  8/1/1972

Thank you to our sponsors!

Farm Credit East

Land Vest

Master Logger


Meeting Documents

2022 Board Election

2021 Annual Meeting Minutes

2021 Annual Report